WATCH: HBO’s ‘Game Change’ Trailer (Julianne Moore Does Her Best Sarah Palin)

 

I read Game Change about a year ago. I didn’t find it as much of a page turner as everyone had made it out to be but I did enjoy it and there are some golden pieces of smut hidden throughout that book that stuck with me to today. It’s worth a read but I never thought it would make a potential HBO miniseries.

Attached is the trailer for HBO’s adaptation of the aforementioned book. Ed Harris is John McCain and Julianne Moore plays Sarah Palin. If Sarah Palin hadn’t ever been discovered would this book/movie/everything that has come out because of her ever gone into production or made into such a big deal? That theory is debatable and for another time, but this trailer has made the rounds only because of Julianne Moore’s interpretation of Sarah Palin. I think it’s on point, as least visually. The glasses, the hair, everything works. Her accent is a little “Julianne Moore trying to do Sarah Palin but not trying to be compared to Tina Fey” and ultimately that is the biggest hurtle this film is going to face. Tina Fey’s impersonation is iconic, legendary and frankly, the political side of SNL has not been able to recover since our obsession with the Palins has ceased. I think Moore has it down though. I’m more worried about Harris’ McCain.

Game Change premieres on HBO in March.

Source.

One comment

  1. Harris as McCain is a little embarassing, I think Moore could do a good job as Palin, but I don’t think I’ll be watching this!!

Leave a Reply

