Boxing Day Recap

 

I take Boxing Day very seriously. As my second favorite holiday it lands one spot behind Halloween and one above Christmas. You Americans have Black Friday and although there are less weaves and a few more teeth that push through the gates of Best Buy on our national “save more and spend the money you don’t have day” it’s really the same thing. The day began as soon as I went to bed; I didn’t get any sleep that night as my mind was racing. I was also dealing with the early stages of a 24 hour bug, which was about as fun as it sounds. But it was Boxing Day and I had no time for this!

I went to Best Buy with my two friends and my brother and lined up – at the side of the building – at 5:30 AM. Ya, that happened. The deals were great, as they are every year. Attached is the picture of everything I bought. At Best Buy I bought: Fast Five, Crazy Stupid Love, Horrible Bosses and X-Men: First Class for $12.99 on Blu-Ray. I’ll be returning Horrible Bosses though, as I found it at Wal-Mart on DVD for $5 dollars and that is a deal you cannot pass up. I also snatched up the complete series of Shrek for $45 on Blu-Ray, Up In The Air and Paul on DVD for 6.99 and 9.99 respectively. Onto the TV side of things, I bought 30 Rock Season 4 for 14.99 and Firefly Complete Series for $9.99! Right? I KNOW.

The Canadian version of Best Buy is called Future Shop and they had exactly what I needed: every season of Arrested Development for $9.99. I couldn’t pass it up. Unfortunately things I really wanted like Super 8, Rise of the Planet of the Apes and Fright Night were not on sale on Boxing Day but I will keep checking back. Best Buy & Wal-Mart are you best bets for cheap Blu-rays and dealing with crazy people.

 

Leave a Reply

