NBC Renews ‘Hannibal’ Because Obviously

Hannibal Renewal

News broke late last night that NBC had renewed Hannibal. This renewal news come way after all the decisions we’re made earlier in May (I’ve yet to process the cancellation of Happy Endings…). This was expected (the delayed renewal news) as the show premiered mid-season. I’m not entirely shocked NBC renewed the show; it’s been doing okay-ish in the ratings but has strong DVR numbers and the critics love it and has a rabid fanbase already (Hannibal fans are called Fannibals, FYI) .

This news makes me happy because I love Bryan Fuller. I love his work. I love how much he has grown (I started Wonderfalls around the same time as Hannibal, both are great, of course, but Hannibal is his most mature work yet in every aspect and I mean that as a compliment) despite not having a show of his last longer than 2 seasons. This could change with Hannibal though. At least, I hope so.

Hannibal is my favourite new drama of the season. I have a hard time sticking with a drama unless it’s truly captivating and Hannibal is exactly that, and it’s just like, really pretty. All my new favourite dramas have been renewed: Hannibal, The Americans and Elementary. This doesn’t make up for the cancellation of Happy Endings. At all.

 

Leave a comment